Responsible use of Antimicrobials on Beef and Sheep Farms

Overview

Anti-microbial resistance is an increasingly serious threat worldwide where disease causing organisms can develop resistance to antimicrobial drugs, for example, antibiotics. Over time this can lead to the drugs becoming ineffective in treating infections and diseases. A number of workshops focusing on ‘’Responsible Use of Antimicrobials on Beef and Sheep Farms’ have been organised by CAFRE in partnership with AI Services to be delivered throughout Northern Ireland over the coming months by qualified veterinary surgeons.

This course meets the requirements of various farm quality assurance schemes.

Who are the workshops for?

The workshops are free to farmers, members of the farm family and employees. Attendees must pre-register in order to attend a workshop.

Workshop content

Topics covered in the workshops include:

  • What is antimicrobial resistance
  • Types of antimicrobials and their uses
  • Best practice when using antimicrobials
  • Reducing antimicrobial resistance on farm
  • How to avoid residues

Dates and Registration

Thursday 29th January – Stewartstown – 7 pm

Thursday 13th February – Toomebridge – 7.30 pm

Tuesday 25th February – Limavady – 7.30 pm

Thursday 27th February – Garvagh – 7.30 pm

Thursday 27th February – Maghera – 7.30 pm

Thursday 27th February – Castlederg – 7.30 pm

Thursday 5th March – Ballycastle – 7.30 pm

Thursday 12th March – Carnlough – 7.30 pm

Thursday 12th March – Lisnaskea – 7.30 pm

Thursday 12th March – Portglenone – 7.30 pm

Thursday 12th March – Carnlough – 7.30 pm

Thursday 19th March – Strabane – 7.30 pm

Thursday 19th March – Ballymena – 7.30 pm

Thursday 19th March – Omagh – 7.30 pm

Thursday 26th March – Irvinestown – 7.30 pm

Thursday 26th March – Antrim – 7.30 pm

Thursday 16th April – Portadown – 7.30pm

Thursday 30th April – Enniskillen – 7.30pm

Thursday 21st May – Cookstown – 7.30pm

Thursday 2nd April – Banbridge – 7.30pm

Tuesday 19th May – Banbridge – 7.30pm

New dates and venues are coming soon

Click HERE to enrol.

For further information contact AI Services:

T – 028 9083 3123

E: amr@ai-services.co.uk